Defining Beauty #1 *From a Mother’s Perspective*

Hello lovelyios, this is definitely *Kido* (how do you spell the pronunciation for a little in Kikuyu? Someone help me stop embarrassing myself lol) Late but HAPPY SEPTEMBER! Also happy month that I was born, my birthday is in a few days and I have mixed feelings about that because in my head nineteen is not that big a deal. the big deals are 18, 21, 25, then 30, 40, 50, 60, and every ten years after that.

because it is my birthday month though there is a series I am doing this month, that may go into next month called, wait for it- Defining Beauty *From an artist’s perspective.* I have plenty crazy amazing interviews lined up with poets, musicians, more photographers, and at the end I will do a special post on my journey to defining beauty. Please stick around this month and give me feedback. To start us off today My lovely cousin who has actually done a guest post here- What is Love? before wrote something small, read on…

What is Beauty?

People like to use the phrase ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ to explain how what one person can see as beautiful another person may not. But what exactly is beauty? Is it a physical/spiritual/emotional/mental description of something or someone? The dictionary defines it as,

 

“the quality present in a thing or person that gives intense pleasure or deep satisfaction to the mind, whether arising from sensory manifestations (as shape, color, sound etc), a meaningful design or pattern, or something else (as a personality in which high spiritual qualities are manifest”

 

For the most part that definition is correct, but for me what is missing is the heart, because my personal opinion is that our hearts are what form us, what we believe in our heart is what we portray outwardly. Your mind although powerful is limited, your intelligence, logic, reasoning can only take you so far.

I am experiencing this first hand, I have a six year old daughter and there two ways I can see her, firstly, by using my mind, which helps me see her physical and mental beauty. I don’t think I am being biased when I say on both aspects she is absolutely attractive. Whenever I notice this it gives me such a deep satisfaction. Each time I see the beauty in her and the forming intelligence as I talk with her, but those things are only part of what makes her beautiful.

Which leads me to the second way I can see her which is using my heart, with that I can see so much more of her, circumstances can destroy her physical and mental beauty but her spirit and emotions, her soul, no one can take away from her.

We are all born with a spirit and when we die our spirit lives on which is why through the spirit is how we are to connect. We are to use our spiritual eyes to look at one another,

appreciate one another,

understand each other,

and love each other because all our spirits come from one source, God.

We have to learn to look at each other the way that He sees us; with eyes of love, grace, kindness, patience, joy, hope, forgiveness, and the list could go on, but the point is He will never stop seeing us that way.

So for us who are made in His image we are to look at one another through His eyes, to be able to see deeper than the sometimes murky surface, clearer than what is directly in front of us. To be able to see the other person’s potential even when they do not see it.

That is true beauty because it is not limited by time, space, monetarily value, or physical attributes. It has no limits.

So for me as a mum, I have to make a choice as to how I see my daughter because that is what will determine how she sees herself. So my belief? Yes “beauty is in the eye of the beholder” but what the MOST important question is WHICH eyes are you looking with?

Leave a Reply

