Interview with a Photographer/ You-tuber/ D.J!

Interview Ian Kemama

Yesterday I had the opportunity to interview an amazing guy I met through a mutual friend. He is an aspiring photographer, videographer, you-tuber, and –wait for it- D.J! You would never believe when you first meet him, that he is a jack of all trades mainly, because of the humility that he seemingly portrays. He has a simple, down to earth manner that you would not expect from a young entrepreneur.

Introduction, who are you?

This began about five years ago as something simple. My brother fell in love with photography and decided to start a company. I was in form three or four at the time, (Equivalent to eleventh or twelfth grade/ year ten or eleven). I asked my dad to buy me a camera and I started taking pictures in school… People started mentioning that I was quite good which inspired me to do it more. I also started making you tube videos and posting them.

At around this time my brother’s company began growing, but he still kept it simple with just a camera guy, a make-up artist and a video person. He named it Level 5 and they to date doing different jobs here and there and expanding their business.

How did you fall in love with what you do?

I actually started out of curiosity. My life motto is,

If you can do it, why not?”

In 2013 I started videography and Dj-ing at different places and events. I loved the feeling of mixing music that gets other people moving, especially music which I enjoy as well. It is a feeling that can’t be described, almost like an adrenaline rush.

The biggest challenges you faced

Doing the actual work! It is like the saying, “easier said than done.” You may have the desire and heart to pursue something but without the push and right motivation it will be hard. You have to learn how to stop postponing while you are planning and actually just get into it and do it. If it something that you love, believe me it will be worth it.

Another challenge I face while starting out is working with equipment. If you are a photographer or videographer, you would know that the right equipment is crazy expensive so you have to figure out how to work with what you got and still get the best results possible.

The biggest positives faced

Again when it is something you love there are so many more positives than negatives. One of them in my line of work has been meeting people and networking. You build and form relationships that may be crucial to your future, it is also amazing meeting creatives and working with them. There are so many more people in the Arts than you would expect.

When it comes to mixing music, again it is incredible having other people enjoy almost as much or even more than you do, the work that you put into something. It’s the same thing with photography. It is inspiring to see how many people appreciate your work and passion.

(That smile though lol)

Where do you see yourself in five-ten years?

I am hopefully going to study game design in a year or two, because getting into that field are my goals professionally. Grow my you tube channel, photography and videography entrepreneurship on the side. We’ll see where life goes.

Advice for other’s pursuing their Passion

My biggest advice would be,

You do you!

Don’t try to be someone else; don’t compare your work and life to someone else’s life because the only way to be the best at what you do is to be completely, 100% original. Be brave, people may doubt you but if you believe in yourself and love what you do, you can make it.

Check out his youtube channel TheIanKemama

And as always follow me on Bloglovin’ HERE and/or subscribe for post updates. I will explain the September Series next week.

2 Comments

  1. I will have to check out his vlog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome, let me know what you think 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

